Lesson Learned

Everybody makes mistakes. The goal is not to be free of making mistakes but to try not to make the same ones twice. Each time in life when we come up short of our expectations there is a valuable lesson. I have often felt that the most gains that I have made as an individual both personally and professionally have not been when my life has been going well but rather when it was going anything but. In my experiences, individuals rarely chose self-reflections or make drastic changes when life is going well. Why would you?? If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!!

This past two months I have chosen to work extra hours at my job.  Mind you this not a job that I love. I do not hate it but I do not love it. The reason that I chose to work these extra hours is in the hope that I may make a little extra money so that I can some day turn my focus fully to figuring out what I love and making that my career.

While the extra hours looked great on paper, living them has been anything but. Not only have I not saved any extra money but I have been miserable in the process. Due to the fact that I have been working extra hours I have not had as much time to cook so I have been eating out more. (There goes all the money that I thought I was going to save). No food that you buy at a restaurant is going to be as healthy as the food you cook.   I am tired all the time. I have not been able to do the things that I enjoy doing: cooking, spending time with my husband, catching up with friends, working out and so on and so forth.  A job that I normally feel neutral about has become more then a chore. Lastly, I am no close to reaching my goals then I was before this decision.

I think that there is a time and a place for working your butt off. Hard work is definitely one of the keys to success but I think that you just have to be careful that what you are working so hard for is what you really want and that you are enjoying the process. If you are dreading every minute of it…is it worth it???

It has been almost like an epiphany that if I want to change the course of my life then I am going to have to take some risks. There was a quote that my dad loved to tell me as a kid. “If you always do what you always did, you will always get what you always got”. I am ready for something different. At the end of this month I will go back to working my normal hours and mid-november I decided to cut my hours. I have done this so that I can take more opportunities to do the things I enjoy and take some risks in hopes of finding what it is that I love to do!!

This has been a hard lesson learned and one that is still being etched into my memory as I continue to work through my schedule this next month. Hopefully, I have learned this lesson for good!!

declaration_horz

This entry was posted in About.

2 comments on “Lesson Learned

  1. jisforjudy says:

    Good for you Theresa! The extra $$ sounds nice but life is a short term event and I’m excited to hear how you plan to live it more fully!!

Leave a Reply

