A Week in Paradise!!

Ever since I can remember I have wanted to go to Hawaii!! In college I seriously contemplated moving to Hawaii. I have more then one book in my possession about how to move to Hawaii. The same can be said about learning how to surf. Up until this week I had never been to Hawaii or attempted to surf in the ocean. I always had a reason for not doing these things. The reasons were often that I need to save more money or I wanted to wait until I was in a different point in my life.  I am one of those individuals that as soon as I reach a goal I immediately set another goal in it’s place. This year it became crystal clear to me that if I did not throw caution to wind and just book the trip to Hawaii that it may never happen. I am so happy that did!! This has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life. It is also a great lesson that once you finally decide to go after something that you really want you will find a way to make it happen. The one benefit though of waiting almost ten years to go to a place that I have always dreamed of is that I get to experience it with my best friend and love of my life!!

One thing that was super inspirational about the trip is some of the people that we met. Many of them were individuals that just decided that they wanted to live in Hawaii and that it was going to happen. More amazing is that they are super successful at it. They found something that they loved and found a way to make a living out of it. I am totally amazed and inspired. That is my goal to live at the beach with a career at something that I love. I am still looking for the right path but I am sure that I will find it. One of these amazing folks is a photographer name Nick Selway who is the co-owner of lava light galleries. Definitely check out their pictures. They are awesome to say the least. The other person is an individual named Hank who moved from Montana and fell in love with the volcano and lava in general.  He now own’s property not even two miles from the active lava flow and gives tours nightly.  Check out his website.

Of course no trip is complete without a visit to a local CrossFit gym. I was able to sneak in a workout at CrossFit Allstar.  It was an amazing gym with some of the friendliest people that I have ever met. I especially enjoyed the mobility/yoga class that they offered directly after the workout. I always mean to stretch and roll out after my workout but it rarely happens. Having the extra motivation of a class was well worth my time.

Below are a couple of pictures of my trip to the Big Island of Hawaii

DSC_0251

DSC_0797

DSC_0785

DSC_0495

DSC_0680

DSC_0723

This entry was posted in Fun.

One comment on “A Week in Paradise!!

  1. Liz says:

    LOVE!! proud of you! Cant wait to see more pics and hear more stories xo

Leave a Reply

