Tape it up!

I knew that I loved CrossFit the day that we did the Hero WOD “Murph“. Hero WODs (Work out of the day) are normally brutal workouts that commemorate someone that gave their life for our country. I love the Hero WODs because I think that they optimize what is CrossFit. They are about community. They are about pushing yourself to the limits both physically and mentally.

CrossFt is definitely a physically intense sport but it is also a mentally intense sport. Anyone can push themselves to do more when it is easy. They question is will you keep moving when your lungs and legs are burning and all you want to do is quit but you have only finished half the workout. How about then?? What will you be saying to yourself to get yourself through the workout? It is in these workouts that not only the physically tough but mentally tough excel!

The first time I completed the “Murph” WOD will have a special place in my heart because it is the first time in over five years that my hands “ripped”. There was a time where my hands were rough and calloused from hours and hours of gymnastics practice on the bars. Up until December when I started CrossFit my hands were baby-soft. The day I did “Murph”, I got a rip in the middle of the workout. I remember I was tired, sweaty, sore and loving every minute of it. I love the challenge of pushing my mind to finish the workout and getting my body to follow.

Since this workout we have done many workouts that involve an excessive amount of pull-ups. With pull-ups my addiction to chalk becomes obvious. This is an addiction  that evolved in my gymnastics days. I LOVE CHALK. I like the way that it helps me grip the bar better as well as helps me focus. I use the time to get chalk as a moment to re-focus on what I am doing and take a small breather. Unfortunately, excessive chalk use leads to excessive rips….woops. So I thought I would teach everyone how to make tap grips. Tape grips are a cheap easy way to protect your hands. Tape grips can be reusable….not forever but at least for a couple workouts. I see lots of people with both leather and dowel grips. At this point I don’t see a need for them. I very particular about my grips and how they fit and feel. I think if I had them I would waste more time putting them on and adjusting them then anything. Also, I feel that the more CrossFit I do the tougher my hands will get on their own and the less rips I will see. Plus…the more pull-ups I do in a row means less chalk…and less rips.

IMG_0395

My hands after the Hero WOD “Loredo” which involved a total of 144 pull-ups!!!

HOW TO MAKE TAPE GRIPS

DSC_0029

Choose sports tape that you can buy at pretty much any store or CVS. You want the tape to be 1 1/2 inches to 2 inches wide

DSC_0031

You want to tear off two pieces that are about twice the length of your hand. Take one piece and fold the sticky portions towards each other so that the tape is now half the original width and  that the sticky portions of the tape are on the inside.

DSC_0032

Now take the thin piece of tape and fold them so they lay next to each other like above. This should create a little hole near the top that will be for your finger. I test the hole that I create by placing it on my hand to make sure that I am leaving myself a big enough hole for my finger.

DSC_0033

Now take the second piece of tape that you measured off at the beginning and line it up with the back of the folded tape piece that you just made. Make sure to leave room for your finger and then fold the tape over the front up to the finger hole.

DSC_0034

It should look like this when you are done.

DSC_0036

I wear the tape grip over the middle finger. This is the portion of the tape grip that is re-usable.

DSC_0037

Next tape around your wrist and you are ready to go!!

One comment on “Tape it up!

  1. […] Tape it up! (notfortime.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

