Austin!! Keeping it Weird…..

So the theme for this blog is fun, fitness, food and figuring it all out. I thought it was about time that I posted some “fun.” Right now I am writing to you from Austin, Tx…Yeah!! Mini-vacation!! I have always had a strong love for mexican food and margaritas so I feel right at home in Austin. I am here with my friend Rina and my new found friend Lauren. We have had a lot of fun exploring the city, food and talking with the locals. Below are some of the pictures from my adventure thus far!!

ImageTexas        tx - wall graffiti

Texas Capitol

Yeah Austin!! Some of the scenery from around town….

Bats

Lauren and I with the bat expert. Every night hundreds of bats fly out from under one of the bridges in Austin. It is quite a sight and honestly a little terrifying.

Image 6

Little did we know that this was going to become an animal discovery adventure!!

Texas - LibraryImage 1

Hanging out with some amazing people 🙂

For me visiting a new place is as much about the food as it is exploring. Visiting Austin, Tx is no different except that this is the first time that I have gone on vacation Paleostyle. Ironically, the day before I left I got my copy of Paleo Magazine and in it was the article “Road Trip: Sticking to Paleo on the Go.” The article was well written and informative but I think it was geared to those who want to be strict Paleo on their adventures. To be strict Paleo, especially when away from home base, requires a lot of preparation and planning. For me, vacation is supposed to be fun and consuming my vacation with stringent requirements of where and what I am going to eat takes a lot of the fun out of going away. One thing that the article stressed, and I wholly agree with, is that Paleo is a lifestyle not a diet. What this means to me is that if I were on a “diet,” vacation would be the time to throw caution to the wind and eat whatever hits your plate. A “lifestyle” means that you don’t venture too far from what your norm is. Although, I know I feel and function better on a stricter Paleo I refuse to spend my whole vacation just eating salad at every meal….BORING….. At the same time I know that letting too loose will leave me tired and probably doubled over in pain for most of my entire vacation which isn’t fun either. The only rule that I will not break even for vacation is no bread…otherwise I try to listen to my body and how I feel. I try to make as Paleo conscious choices as possible but I don’t stress out about it if it is not 100% paleo. If my belly is feeling a little unsettled I make sure that I make better choices at the next meal. Luckily, for me, Austin is a very health conscious city which really made it delicious and easy to make positive choices.   While Austin has been fun I am looking forward to getting back to making my own very delicious and healthful food.

Image 2Image 5

One of the yummy Paleo friendly meals that I had while on my trip…..

Leave a Reply

