The five emotional stages of every CrossFit workout

I find every CrossFit to be an emotional challenge mostly because I always some how think that the workout is going to be easier then it is. You would think by now I would have learned my lesson that each workout is a balls to the walls sweatfest that leaves you on the ground gasping for air. Below are the five emotional stages that I go through on every workout without fail

1) Denial – I always look up the WOD (work out of the day) before I go to the gym but the first thing that I do when I get to the gym is look at the WOD posted on the board and the previous times/weights for the day. I am always thinking the same thing: 3 things, 10 min AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) — how bad can it be? Boy, the last group looks pretty damn tired. But I mean its only three things for 10 min…..it can’t be that hard. I can do that. (This is as I look at all the people with six packs gasping for air laying on the floor as soon as time is called — I some how convince myself that not only am I equally but some how more fit then they are)

2) I got this Sh*T – This normal happens sometime during the first thirty seconds of the workout. Like I thought….I got this shit. Only 9 min and 45 seconds left.

3) Oh Crap  – Um…this is hard. Um…how are there 9 min. left, did someone reset the clock. That is what must have happened. How can only three things for 10 minutes be so hard. I wonder if I leave now if anyone will notice…I mean they all look pretty focused on what they are doing anyway , surely they wont see me slip out or notice my abandoned equipment. Damn….what the hell did she have for breakfast…she is killing it. Well if she can do it….I can do it. (I love the motivation of having others busting their butt around me. It definitely pushes me to be my best and push my limits. This is one of the things that I love about CrossFit. If I was doing these workouts by myself I would somehow convince myself half way through that I had worked hard enough for the day and that it was ok to stop the workout half way through)

4) I think I am gonna make it –  This normally happens during the last thirty seconds. Yeah!! I am gonna finish!! I usually find a small burst of energy to push through to the end

5) Pride – As I lay gasping for breath after each and every workout I am always proud of myself. I am proud that I did not quit and that I kept pushing myself.

I love CrossFit because it is hard. It pushes you each and every time to see what you are made of. The only person holding you back is you. How bad do you want it? How hard are you willing to push yourself. I also love to sweat. Im not talking about some wetness under the arms of your shirt. I am talking sweat that is dripping off your face. It is kind of like your body’s acknowledgement that you are busting your butt and that you are in fact a badass.

This entry was posted in About.

3 comments on “The five emotional stages of every CrossFit workout

  1. crossfitrook says:

    Great post! Definitely agree with the five stages. Good luck if you are doing Murph this weekend.

  2. Liz says:

    I like how your censor sh*t in the title then say it fully in the paragraph 😛 Great post!! “What did she have for breakfast? She’s killing it” made me laugh!!

Leave a Reply

