Work: 3 Theresa: 0 — Paleo Cont…

So this week at work was horrible. There were many times that I wish I could have clicked my heels like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz and ended up back home. Unfortunately, these long and horribly drawn out days caused me to make some poor food choices. I thought this would be a good opportunity for me to show you how to congratulate yourself on the positive diet choices that you make and how to move on from the poor ones.

Day 1: On my way home from work I called my husband to see if he could ensure that a margarita was waiting for me. While Tequila is one of the few liquors allowed in the Paleo lifestyle there was nothing Paleo about my margarita. P.S. I love margarita’s!!! My favorite drink. Super excited to go to Austin at the end of the month to get my Margarita on!!

Day 2: Walked across the street after work to grab a salad from Whole Foods. Last week I almost had mental break down when in Whole Foods because I thought that they discontinued my all-time favorite dessert. But today I saw my favorite dessert in the bakery aisle. After a second of staring, longing and drooling I was able to walk right past the dessert to the cashier line.  Yeah for me. Got home and get a call from my husband that he is going to McDonald’s. Gave in and had a medium coke and fries. I knew it would taste good. But I also knew that it would make me feel like crap but I gave into the moment and paid for it with stomach pains in the middle of the night.

Day 3: Piece of crappy Chocolate (I consider myself a chocolate connoisseur considering the vast amount of chocolate I have eaten in my past and because I attended a wine and chocolate class. High quality chocolate has a high percentage of cocoa content. It also makes an audible snap when you break a piece off)

I could have totally beaten myself up for my poor choices but I am actually super proud of myself. Four months ago each of these terrible rotten days would have ended in a coke, a candy bar and possibly a visit to McDonald’s. On the positive: Each day for lunch I had half an avocado and Honey Mustard Crunchy Chicken Plantain Salad 

Image

Honey Mustard Crunchy Plantain Chicken Salad

NEWS FLASH: There will always be room for improvement!! No matter how great you think you are doing you could always do better. For instance I hate cooking breakfast so most morning it does not happen. Most morning I drink coffee and eat half an avocado. I wish I cooked eggs for myself in the morning but I don’t. I could focus on this one little blip of how I am not meeting my goal or I could focus on how far I have come. If I focused on what I am screwing up I would have felt like a failure and given up long ago. 

Just a couple more points about Paleo. The first is preparation is Key!!! When you have something healthy to reach for in the fridge it is easier to make smart choices!!! I know its hard. My husband and I both work shift work. My schedule is different every week!! I work different days and different times of the day. Sometimes morning and sometimes over night and anything in between. We find that if we choose a day we both have off to go over how the rest of the week is going to go in terms of cooking it makes it easier!!

Always cook more then you need!!! I cook like I am feeding a family of five. I always cook more then the recipe calls for because that makes easy left overs. I promise after a twelve hour shift I will not be cooking anything but I will happily re-heat anything!

Lastly, I feel like I have to talk about one of the most important lessons that I learned from Paleo!! Fat is good!!! I grew up learning that low fat is better then full fat but that is not true!! Why do you feel full and satisfied after a hamburger from McDonald’s and not a iceberg lettuce salad with fat free dressing? Um fat of course. Fat is what makes you feel full and satisfied. Paleo is all about incorporating good fats into your diet: Yummy coconut milk, coconut oil, nuts, avocados, fish and so on. This is why I don’t feel deprived with the Paleo lifestyle. Also, it is necessary for your body to run efficiently. Each and every one of your cells in your body needs fat to function efficiently.

 Yeah fat!!

Leave a Reply

